The Trial at Rouen

Norman Dello Joio

December 1, 2017 at 8:00pm
NEC’s Jordan Hall

The Trial at Rouen

By Norman Dello Joio

Sung in English

Produced in collaboration with the Boston Modern Orchestra Project


2021 GRAMMY® Nominee for Best Opera Recording.

In 1950 Boston based Pulitzer Prize winning composer Norman Dello Joio premiered his first opera The Triumph of Saint Joan. Unhappy with the results he withdrew the work. Still fascinated with the subject he was commissioned by the NBC Television Opera Theatre to produce an original 75-minute opera for television. The resulting work in two acts, The Trial at Rouen, premiered on April 8, 1956, on NBC. In collaboration with the Boston Modern Orchestra Project, Odyssey Opera’s performance marks the first time The Trial at Rouen will be performed off screen and on stage in front of a live audience. The most condensed of all the operas of our season, it focuses on the period of the imprisonment and trial of Joan. The concert will open with Dello Joio’s most popular work The Triumph of Saint Joan Symphony a purely orchestral work based on the material from his first Joan of Arc opera.

“A night at the opera doesn’t get better than this.”

Opera News

Cast and Creative

Heather Buck
Heather Buck

Gil Rose
Stephen Powell
Pierre Cauchon

Luke Scott
Luke Scott
Father Julien

Ryan Stoll
Ryan Stoll
The Jailer

Jeremy Ayres Fisher
Jeremy Ayres Fisher

Gil Rose
Gil Rose

Production Staff

Brooke Stanton … Costume Designer
Lisa Charlotte Berg … Props Designer
Amanda Michelle Fisher … Production Stage Manager
Jeremy Ayers Fisher … Stage Manager
Jill Costello … Wardrobe
Jennifer DeMarco Gregory … Hair/Make-Up


Alecia Batson
Celeste Godin *
Natalie Logan
Erin Merceruio Nelson
Kay Patterson
Samantha Schmid
Alexandra Dietrich *
Julia Kornick
Rebecca Krouner
Elena Snow
Mauri Tetreault
Hilary Anne Walker
Wes Hunter *
Jonathan Oakes
Ted Palés
Fran Rogers
Felix Aguilar Tomlinson
Mitch FitzDaniel
Marcus Schenck
Matthew Stansfield
Ryan Stoll
Aaron Styles
Wesley Thomas

* Heavenly Voices

the Inquisitors

Ethan Bremner †
RaShaun Campbell
Joel Edwards
Andrew Miller †
Alexis Piñero

† Lead Inquisitors


Video by Kathy Wittman / Ball Square Films